hoops

See your questions answered, and others can learn those answers too.
christin@cmjj.net

hoops

Post by christin@cmjj.net » Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:33 pm

I so need help…. I am new to my machine brother PE-770. I love it, now I just installed essentials and am not really "getting it". My main question is this. If I have 2 hoops, 5 X 7 and a 5 X 12, when I am selecting images, do they have to be smaller than 5 X7. This is so confusing because my machine says that the area is 5 X 7, ut then why do I have a 5 X 12 hoop, soooo confused??? Also…. when I go to preferences and then hoop, I have no idea which hoops are mine because of the mm. Its driving me nutty. All I have is a 4 X 4 hoop, 5 X 7 hoop and 5 X 12. ANy and all input is sooooooo appreciated, thank you in advance :) Also if I buy an image from emblibrary, will a 5 X 12 hoop let me make it bigger in embrilliance???

MacStitch

Re: hoops

Post by MacStitch » Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:04 pm

Your 5x7 hoop is 130 x 180 mm. The 5x12 is a multi-position hoop. Your machine can only stitch 130 x 180 or small field, but the 5x12 lets you stitch two different files without re-hooping. When you get more advanced, you can split a larger design into two files so that a larger design can be stitched with your machine. Since you are new to this, I'd leave the multi-positional hoop alone and concentrate on 5x7 and 4x4 (100x100mm) until you get more comfortable with the machine and the hobby.
I also suggest that you join a couple of forums that concentrate on embroidery. Two of my favorites are www.sewforum.com and www.appliqueforum.com. Sewforum is free and appliqueforum has both a free and a paid membership. There are also many Facebook groups. Browse the forums for many useful tips on embroidery itself. And, ask questions. Remember, everyone on the forums was a beginner once. This forum has a vast knowledge base for how to use the Embrilliance products.
Betty

EastWitch2

Re: hoops

Post by EastWitch2 » Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:07 pm