Resizing Designs - lettering in particular

Get the most out of your software! Here we'll try to add useful tips regarding Essentials features.
LisaSewBubbles

Resizing Designs - lettering in particular

Post by LisaSewBubbles » Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:10 pm

'm writing this here because of a couple of posts I've been seeing on other groups about shrinking fonts. Resizing has LOTS to do with the original design and it is really obvious with lettering because they are satin stitches. The resizing on most machines is recommended to be limited to 20% because they do not have stitch processing software (design dimension is adjusted but the # of stitches remains the same). Some may adjust the number of stitches when resizing, but I have little experience with on board editing at the machine because I would much rather do all my customizing in software, on a big monitor, with a mouse, and a FAST computer.

Essentials includes a TOP NOTCH stitch processor for resizing embroidery designs up or down. But YOU are smarter than the software. Software lets you do anything you want - this does not ensure that what you want to do is a good idea. You control the software so you need to do some investigating and see if what you are trying to do makes sense.

For example, changing the size of lettering. The reason most digitizers offer their designs in various sizes is because they adjust things like pull compensation and underlay for the various sizes. Otherwise, they would offer a single size font and say "have at it in your software"
CA both.png
CA both.png (203.63 KiB) Viewed 1889 times
Check out the Charming Font from Creative Appliques- love this font. https://creativeappliques.com/shop/char ... abet-font/
CA small.png
CA small.png (176.07 KiB) Viewed 1889 times