Creating appliques with satin stitches

Things you discover along the way.
melaniemillett

Creating appliques with satin stitches

Post by melaniemillett » Sat Mar 14, 2015 10:00 am

I have bought Thumbnailer, Enthusiast, Essentials, Density Repair kit, and StitchArtist. I am new to digitizing and I am trying to create applique designs. I have a couple of questions.

First, when I have 2 or more fabrics that meet, I have the applique satin stitch on the underneath part(sometimes things are meeting at an angle). So then I put the satin stitch layer on the piece that is on top. I have some satin stitches from the underneath piece that I need to remove or just angle the way they meet up, so I don't have a lot of bulk with the stitches. I have tried using the vacuum, with no success. I have tried the scissors. I have tried going in to remove stitches, but it selects both layers. I really just need the stitches to sometimes angle so they meet up right, or completely delete some.

My second question is this. When turning a corner I usually want my satin stitches to angle and form a "v" as it turns the corner. A lot of times I am getting an overlapping look instead. I have been successful with moving nodes sometimes to get the "v" look, but not always. What am I doing wrong?

I am having so much fun with the software! I hope someone can help me with these few questions!

Melanie

EastWitch2

Re: Creating appliques with satin stitches

Post by EastWitch2 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 11:51 am

Hi Melanie!

This video should help you with the removal of some of the stitches of an Applique that is underneath another Applique so you don't have the bulk of excess stitches stitching on top of each other.
Make sure you use the Save Stitch File As option when saving the design so the removal of the stitches occur for the saved Stitching file which is your machine stitch file such as pes, or vip , or hus, etc..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQC6JmhE_sU