Making appliques from regular designs

See your questions answered, and others can learn those answers too.
Post Reply
The Sewing Room
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 6:36 pm

Making appliques from regular designs

Post by The Sewing Room » Tue Mar 31, 2015 10:49 pm

Is it possible to take a regular design into an applique stitch. I have a design that just stitches out in satin stitch, but wanted to do an applique out of it. Is this possible. Kind of new to all the tricks to this. Or does it have to be digitized in applique form. Thanks.

LisaSewBubbles
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:27 pm

Re: Making appliques from regular designs

Post by LisaSewBubbles » Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:49 pm

Not sure if you found your answer already - to create new stitches requires digitizing software. So you could do this in StitchArtist IF the design lends itself to having it done. You have all the digizing tools in StitchArtist. So you would open the design and use it as a template for drawing the part you want to be the applique. Then you would delete the fill stitches you just drew the replacement to and change the stitching order if necessary.

So no this is not something you do in Essentials but something you could do with StitchArtist. If you have more questions, please use the Contact Us link so that someone in support can send you the information that you need!
If you have further questions, please use the Contact Us link at the top of this page to submit your questions to customer support.

Lisa

http://www.Sew-bubbles.com - check out my Blog for how to vidoes, projects and more!

LindeeG
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: Making appliques from regular designs

Post by LindeeG » Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:41 pm

You might be able to "trick" the design into being an applique depending on the underlay that exists in the current design and if the satin stitch is wide enough.

I like a minimum width of 3mm. If the design has a center run underlay followed by a zigzag underlay, that's pretty ideal. You could even modify the design in Essentials by using the Stitch Simulator to add color stops. Add one after the run in the underlay. Make it any color. Now ungroup the design. Duplicate the run and make it another color. Move it in the stitching order so it follows the first run. Normally these would have tie-offs but it's not a big deal in this case because the rest of the underlay and satin stitching will hold it in place.

When sewing, sew the first run as a placement and the second as a tackdown. You'll have to use the "blob method" of placing a larger piece of fabric and then trimming it back to the stitching line after the second run sews.

As you can see, this all depends on how your design was digitized in the first place. You can do some pretty amazing things in just Essentials but Lisa is right. If you really want/need to add stitches, you can really only do that in StitchArtist.

Lindee

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests